Residual functional capacity is how Social Security decides you can't work

When a Social Security Disability or SSI disability case is approved or denied by a disability examiner, the disability decison is based on the claimant's ability to work, or inability to work. To be considered uanble to work and, thus, have eligibility for disability benefits, a claimant must be found to be unable to perform past work (jobs that have been done in the last 15 years) and also unable to perform other work (jobs that a person might conceivably do, based on their age, education, skills, and functional limitations).

Sounds fairly simple, right? However, the most obvious question does social security determine if a person can no longer work?

This is how: after a claimant's medical records are collected, they are read and analyzed to determine to what extent, and in what ways, a person may be limited by their physical impairments, mental impairments, or both. This determination of a claimant's functional limitations is translated into something called an RFC, which stands for residual functional capacity.

Residual functional capacity can be thought of as "what a person is still able to do, despite the effects of their impairment or impairments". A residual functional capacity assessment is written up on an RFC form by a disability examiner (examiners work at state agencies that make disability decisions for the social security administration) and it is valid after it receives the signature of a unit medical consultant (an M.D.) or a unit psychological consultant (a Ph.D. level psychologist).

In many claims, of course, since a claimant will have both physical and mental conditions that need to be evaluated, there will be both a mental and a physical residual functional capacity assessment performed by the disability examiner and the doctors who are assigned to the examiner's unit.

Residual functional capacity is basically a way to give a claimant a rating, based on what their medical records have to say about their condition. And, based on A. the residual functional capacity assessment that is determined for the claimant, B. the type of work a claimant has done in the past, and C. a claimant's education, age, and work skills (which will decide the other types of work which a claimant might possibly be able to do), a disability claimant will either be denied for disability or awarded disability benefits.

About the Author: Tim Moore is a former Social Security Disability Examiner in North Carolina, has been interviewed by the NY Times and the LA Times on the disability system, and is an Accredited Disability Representative (ADR) in North Carolina. For assistance on a disability application or Appeal in NC, click here.

Most popular topics on

Social Security Disability in North Carolina

Common Mistakes to avoid after being denied for Disability

Tips to Prepare for Filing for Social Security Disability or SSI

Advice to Win SSD and SSI Benefit Claims

Social Security Disability SSI Questions

What is the difference between Social Security Disability and SSI?

How to get disability for depression

Getting disability for fibromyalgia

SSI disability for children with ADHD

What is the Application Process for Social Security Disability and SSI?

Social Security Disability SSI Exam tips

More Social Security Disability SSI Questions

What makes you eligible for Social Security Disability or SSI?

Related pages:

How much does disability pay?
Who is eligible for SSI, how do I apply?
How to File for SSI
Permanent disability benefits
Who works on your Social Security Disability or SSI case?
Mean and rude Social Security judges
Looking for a good disability lawyer
Disability requirements, eligibility, criteria
Disability requirements and how to file in Missouri
How do you Apply for SSI?
What Conditions Qualify For Social Security Disability?