Overview of Disability

Disability Back Pay

Disability Requirements

Disability Applications

Disability Advice Tips

How long do cases take?

How to win Disability

SSD Mistakes to avoid

Disability for Mental

What if you get denied?

How to file Appeals

Disability through SSA

SSI Disability Benefits

Disability for Children

How do I qualify for it?

Working and Disability

Disability Award Notice

Disability Lawyer Q&A

Disability Conditions List

What is a disability?

Your Medical Evidence

Filing for your Disability

Disability Eligibility

SSD SSI Definitions

Recent Questions

SSDRC Disability Blog

Applying for Disability according to state of residence

Filing for disability benefits under the SSD (Social Security Disability) or SSI program is often a difficult proposition, mainly because initial claims (disability applications) are very likely to be denied regardless of one's state of residence.

Not only that, the first appeal, the request for reconsideration, involves denial rates that are generally higher than 80 percent. Again, this is regardless of one's state of residence and has tended to be true in every state over the course of the last three decades.

The nature of the Social Security Disability and SSI claim process is simply that, while a few claims will be awarded at the disability application level, the great majority of applicants will be forced to file at least two appeals (the request for a reconsideration which is usually denied, and the request for a disability hearing).

Fortunately, individuals who do not give up and continue the process as far as the hearing level will, statistically, stand a very good chance of approval. Unfortunately, though, as a result of how long it may take to eventually be awarded benefits, most claimants will endure a fair amount of financial distress.

The position of this website has always been that learning more about how the disability system works can help applicants avoid simple mistakes that may add unnecessary processing time to their cases, and in many instances, assist them in winning their claims. The following sections provide information, divided by state, for this purpose.

 Alabama,  Alaska,  Arizona,  Arkansas,  California,  Colorado,  Connecticut,  Delaware,  Florida,  Georgia,  Hawaii,  Idaho,  Illinois,  Indiana,  Iowa,  Louisiana,  Kansas,  Kentucky,  Maine,  Maryland,  Massachusetts,  Michigan,  Minnesota,  Mississippi,  Missouri,  Montana,  Nebraska,  Nevada,  New Hampshire,  New Jersey,  New Mexico,  New York,  North Carolina,  North Dakota,  Ohio,  Oklahoma,  Oregon,  Pennsylvania,  Rhode Island,  South Carolina,  South Dakota,  Tennessee,  Texas,  Utah,  Vermont,  Virginia,  Washington,  West Virginia,  Wisconsin,  Wyoming

Return to:  Social Security Disability Resource Center, or read answers to Questions